Lifetime & Honourary Membership 

Council has the authority, under the Bylaws, to appoint Lifetime and Honourary Members of the AAO.  
These membership categories are defined as follows:
Lifetime - A licensed optometrist who has made an exceptional contribution to the advancement of the profession of optometry in Alberta.  If still practicing, they have full access to member benefits.
Honourary - A person who is not an optometrist, but who has rendered the profession of optometry a valuable service or has notably contributed to the advancement of optometry in Alberta.

Lifetime and Honourary members are not required to pay any fees, dues or levies.  Lifetime and Honourary members will be charged the member fee to attend AAO functions, conferences, etc.

Nominations for Lifetime or Honourary members may be submitted to the AAO Council.  A call for nominations is mailed to members prior to each Annual General Meeting.

For additional information, please contact our Member Services Coordinator at: [email protected]