About Us

Our Vision

A visionary authority for an empowered community of optometrists.

Our Mission

To provide leadership and support for our members to be every Albertan’s first and continual access point for world leading eye care.

Our Values

  • Accountable
  • Forward-looking
  • Innovative 
  • Inclusive 
  • Professional

2022/2023 Council

Dr. Andrea Lasby, President
Dr. Richard Cowles, Past President
Dr. Sophia Leung, President Elect
Dr. Monica Bell, Council Member
Dr. Cristy Franco, Council Member

Dr. Pamela Giles, Council Member 
Dr. Colin Hobson, Council Member
Dr. Darren Wagner, Council Member
Dr. Troy Brady, CAO Representative

Alberta Association of Optometrists Bylaws

To view please click on below.

    Annual Report

    To view please click on below.

    Optometry In Alberta

    To view please click on below.

    AAO Bylaws
    (Adobe PDF File)
    AAO Annual Report
    (Adobe PDF File)
    Optometry Fact Sheet
    (Adobe PDF File)


    Brian Wik, CAE
    Chief Executive Officer 
    (780) 784-5822
    [email protected]

    Karen Hollingsworth 
    Office Manager 
    Eyesafe Assistant Director
    (780) 784-5821
    [email protected]

    Al Amarshi
    Director - Vision Care Programs 
    (780) 451-6916
    [email protected]

    Breanne Lindsey
    Data Entry & Eyesafe Administrative Assistant 
    (780) 488-7017
    [email protected]

    Janice Archbold
    Communications Manager 
    (780) 455-3017
    [email protected]

    Member Services Coordinator
    Eye See... Eye Learn Coordinator
    (780) 784-5823
    [email protected]

    Savy Vonn
    Accounting Manager 
    (780) 451-9267
    [email protected]

    Amber Williams
    Administrative Assistant 
    (780) 488-7028
    [email protected]

    Amy Krautt
    Events Coordinator
    (780) 488-7029
    [email protected]

    Meaghan Trewin
    Community Communications Specialist
    (780) 540-9166
    [email protected]

    If you would like to file a complaint against an Alberta optometrist or optometric practice, please contact the Alberta College of Optometrists as disciplinary jurisdiction resides with this body.
    1-800-668-2694 (Alberta only)
    (780) 466-5999 (Edmonton local)
    [email protected]